Sharmistha Is About To Drop Out Of College.Help Her Finish Her Degree. | Milaap
Sharmistha Is About To Drop Out Of College.Help Her Finish Her Degree.
37%
Raised
Rs.43,624
of Rs.1,19,000
17 supporters
  • sarbani

    Created by

    sarbani roy
  • sr

    This fundraiser will benefit

    sharmistha roy

    from Jaipur, Rajasthan

Hello. My name is Sarbani Roy. I’m posting this fundraising request to finance my sister's education for Undergraduate Degree of B.A. Hons in political science at St,Xavier's College, Jaipur.

Here’s a little context on why I am fundraising to finish my sister's education.

It has never been a straight line for me when it comes to education. Staying in school for me and my sister was always a challenge because we almost never had the money to pay for tuition month-on-month or buy new books at the beginning of the school year. Our dad never supported our family financially, it was just our mom, who is now 50+.

I had to drop out of college in the very first year as my dad rejected to pay for my tuition fees and my mom’s job was only enough to support for food and electricity for the house. I eventually had to drop out in 4months.

My dad sexually abused me when I was a child. He didn't stop there, just 2-3 years back he abuses and harrased mom physically and mentally. An FIR is logged against him. He has been to jail thrice, but not a single change in anything, he threatens to kill my mother and grandfather (mother’s father) if they don’t get out of the house, as the house is in his name.

My family doesn’t even have a land of their own, my mom is sick I cannot let her work. I am the sole earner of my family and with just a qualification of 12th pass, I work at a call centre and the pay is only this much that I can support for food, water and electricity. I cannot even save anything out of that salary.

In school, me and my sister, we both excelled in academics and co-curricular activities. In 12 years of school, we’ve won several national and international awards in public speaking competitions like debate and elocution. In Grade 12, my sister secured 91% in the senior secondary school examinations in science stream.

That said, the struggle with finances continues. I was able to pay for her admission fees and buy books through my savings but with lockdown and everything, I even didn’t have a job for months.
While all my other friends are pursuing their master’s degree, I am working day and night, so I could earn and support myself, and my family. The dependencies have only grown since.

What I do for a living:
With a minimum qualification of just 12th pass, I work at amazon’s customer service team. Other than this me and my sister, we work with various NGO’s in Jaipur supporting the stray animals.

If you choose to support my sister in completing her education, you’d be investing in not just her future, but a family’s future. A future that she plans to make the most of, maybe even become an IAS officer which is her dream.

A detailed breakdown of the expenses needed for my sister’s education:
She is currently enrolled for a three year bachelor degree in St.Xavier’s College, Jaipur with a special focus on political science and global economy.

Due to the many challenges that the pandemic brought with it, I didn’t have a job for long neither am I able to complete my degree. My sister is now halfway through her degree and need your help in reaching the finish line.She is expected to pay the fees for the semester by January 2022 :
  • tuition fees INR 1,10,000 yearly
  • transport Fees INR 9,000 for a year
I am not including any other expense even if there is, as the college fees paid is a huge relief for me.
That said, I have spent the last 24 months trying to secure a bank loan as my mom doesn’t own a collateral to get a student loan sanctioned. Further, I have been trying to talk to both public and private banks since 2018 - the year I started my degree and had to drop out since none bank approved.

Similarly, Non Banking Financial Companies (NBFCs) also look for guarantors with a certain credit score to give loans on really high interest rates that start from the time they give the loan — not an arrangement I can make work given financial limitations. Doors to formal institutions are shut for me. I do not know any friend or family member who I can borrow such a large sum of money from.

Fundraising is my last attempt to see if my sister can finish her bachelor’s degree at least. If this doesn’t work out, she will have to drop out and look for job too.

Read More

support