Support Ruth In This Pandemic | Milaap
Support Ruth In This Pandemic
1%
Raised
Rs.500
of Rs.150,000
1 supporter
  • Rm

    Created by

    Rose m
  • NR

    This fundraiser will benefit

    Nagamma Ramu

    from Bengaluru, Karnataka

My name is Ruth Mantosh (before baptism into Christianity my name was Nagamma Mantosh). I'm 34 years of age and I'm the fifth child of my parents Ramu Mantosh and Galamma Mantosh who had seven children out of which three are surviving. I hail from Bellary but throughout my childhood, I lived in Mumbai after which I came to Karnataka state in 2014 with my husband and two daughters (ages 8 and 5).

My childhood had been very traumatic because of my disability. I was affected by poliomyelitis at the time of my birth and didn't have the privilege of living a normal life like my other counterparts. My legs aren't normal, I can't stand erect and because my parents had no funds to send me to school I couldn't study much.
I went to a government school in Mumbai but could only reach 7th Std.
I resigned myself to staying at home to help my parents and my elder sister and younger brother because the school was situated very far and I couldn't walk that distance.

I helped my mother and father with the household chores in spite of my condition. My father has died and my mother is dependent. Now I'm in a situation that needs immediate attention. I'm living in a slum in Jakkasandra which was affected by two floods within the span of 10 days

My husband isn't able to support me ever since the lockdown and even after the lockdown was lifted because he had been laid off and the company never reinstated him, besides he's illiterate. He's been an applicant since then. My disability doesn't allow me to move around conveniently and I can't complain because it's what God gave me!

I'm only seeking the aid of the general public to bless me with some funds to purchase a three-wheeled vehicle and also funds to run my business. I also need an accommodation because my slum house has fallen. I'm living in a zinc shelter belonging to a construction company which is on a temporary basis. The vehicle can help me to move around to support myself in this situation. I've succeeded in getting help for one child in the boarding. The other daughter is with me.

My urgent requirements are
1. The vehicle
2. Funds for my accommodation
3. Funds for my business
The approximate amount for my rehabilitation after the two floods would be Rupees160,000.

This is my plight, can someone be my helper in time of need?

Read More

support