Help Mehak Reach Royal College Of Arts, London. | Milaap
Help Mehak Reach Royal College Of Arts, London.
1%
Raised
Rs.5,200
of Rs.60,00,000
2 supporters
  • Mehak

    Created by

    Mehak Verma
  • MV

    This fundraiser will benefit

    Mehak Verma

    from Hardoi, Uttar Pradesh

Story

Dear Reader,

Hoping, you are in good health.

My name is Mehak Verma. I am from Hardoi district of Uttar Pradesh, India. I will be completing my graduation this year in July, in GDPD, Textile and Apparel Design at National Institute of Design, Kurukshetra Haryana. I am sharing this with immense pleasure that I have recently received an offer to study MA Textiles (Wovens) programme at Royal College of Arts, London UK, which stands at QS ranking 1 worldwide in the field of Arts and Design.

The tuition fees for the 2 years programme at RCA is 58,000 pounds, which is 60 lakhs INR. Other than that, living expenses at London are extremely high as well.
Unfortunately, due to COVID pandemic, scholarship and fee waivers have considerably reduced and so far I haven't been able to get any financial aid, despite a pretty reasonable academic record. The cost of studying in London for me is extremely high which I will not be able to cover, solely with the help of my family or loan. I am figuring out my ways for my living expenses but it will be really helpful if I can get  support from you all and this platform to cover up my tuition fees.

I have attached the document below that mentions my offer to RCA and the tuition fees needed.

Background :

I come from a small town Sandi in Hardoi district of Uttar Pradesh. My schooling has been done in Lucknow, where I lived with my relatives for 8 years, as there was no quality education in Hardoi.

I will be completing my graduation this year in July, in GDPD, Textile and Apparel Design at National Institute of Design, Kurukshetra Haryana. It is an institute of National Importance in India and is considered one of the most prestigious design institutes of the country as well. Bonafide letter by the institute is shared below.

I am a first generation woman of my family as well as of my entire town, who has aspired and has been offered to study abroad and that too from an unconventional field like design, which is not even considered a stable and respectable profession by the society , especially in the rural areas.

I recognize that this opportunity will help me in building my overall personality and  will make me capable to make the Indian textile industry and the society a better place for artisans, especially women. I believe that I have the potential to set an example for all those women in my town, who aims for their better future, career and livelihood. And it will also challenge the mindset of people who think that design is unstable and doesn't have a career growth.

My work and experiences :

Throughout my academics, I have worked with organizations in India to understand the textile industry and the traditional crafts/textiles of India, from a better perspective.

  • I have worked with Rangsutra Crafts Ltd. as an intern where I have worked on the field research and documentation of Chikankari craft of Lucknow. I also worked on their ongoing project in Hardoi where they are training women artisans of villages in the craft and providing employment. I supported Project Co-Ordinator on field, in product development workshop, Craft Management training, project management, production management and skill assessments' have shared my certificate below. You can my find my craft document via this link : https://www.behance.net/gallery/86889491/Internship-Rangsutra

  •  Done field research of Pattu weaves of Rajasthan, with the help of Urmul Trust, Pokhran. I worked with other 2 students of the institute on field in Dhanau village of Barmer and Pokhran to understand the weaving technique, meeting artisans, understanding their cultural beliefs and the current scenario of the particular craft in the market and in generating employment. Link to the project : https://www.behance.net/gallery/85923928/Design-Project-3-Heritage-Textiles

  • Worked on a project that was NID’s collaboration with Earthwatch Institute India on a Water Hyacinth project with the propose to utilise the abundant water hyacinth in the bird sanctuary of Jhajjar, Haryana, which was stopping various species of birds to visit the sanctuary as all the ponds were covered with this weed. The idea was to utilize this material and come up with interesting textile products and then train women artisans of the village with the craft, to generate income. I worked on exploring this material with various textile techniques, so that the products can meet the market demand. Project Link : https://www.behance.net/gallery/85196779/Design-Project-2-Water-Hyacinth

  • Worked with V-weave, Panipat. It is an export house that works with handloom rugs. Here I got the opportunity to work with Handloom weavers of Panipat and to understand the international markets. I made 2 rugs collection for the US buyers of the company as well. Project link : https://www.behance.net/gallery/105343317/Graduation-Project-Handloom-Rugs

You can find other projects of mine here : https://www.behance.net/mehakverma


Future Goals :

I have always been inclined towards crafts and the artisans throughout my academics. Also, while growing up, I found out that there were weavers in my hometown Hardoi district of Uttar Pradesh, India, who used to weave handloom cotton fabrics (Khadi).Their further generations stopped working in this sector as there was no livelihood in it. I want to revive this practice and regenerate livelihood opportunities for them in their areas so that they don’t have to move around in search of work.

I plan to do so by training them with innovative and sustainable methods in the handloom sector and collaborating with other woman artisans of my area who works with various other crafts like Chikankari, Hand knitting, Zardosi and crocheting. I aspire to come up with products  that will be completely handmade by these artisans and will have the capability to reach the international markets in the long run, therefore, generating a better livelihood, financial security and especially empowering women of the rural areas.

Studying at Royal College of Arts, UK will help me to find out that unique selling proposition among my work and a product/concept , which I can bring back to India and further, train artisans of my area.


I am taking a leap of faith and seeking for your support in the best of your capacity.
Do share my word with you friends and family as well.

Amount required :

Contact :
If you need any other information regarding this, feel free to email me. I’ll revert back as soon as possible.

My email id is : mehak99verma12@gmail.com .



Read More

support